McMurdo Station, Antarctica

Yesterday featured winds so strong (gusts up to 55 mph) the helicopters were all grounded, and the field portion of our sea ice training had to be rescheduled.  Today was a balmy 6.8 F with lighter winds. I’m sorry I haven’t been telling you how cold it is, but frankly, except for yesterday, its been no worse than winter in Vermont. Its “Glad I have a hat and gloves” weather. Not “Gasp, my face just froze!” weather. Of course we do have “Big Red”, the world’s best parka, made by Canada Goose and used by both the USAP and the British Antarctic Survey. It’s about 30 lbs of down (I think there may actually be a goose in there somewhere),  and with snow pants underneath, I am never cold. You can find weather conditions at McMurdo in the link to the right, or by visiting the McMurdo intranet (also at right) which contains a lot of other information as well.

This morning I did some planning for our field work tomorrow and this afternoon, Ross and I took a walk out to Hut Point, where Scott’s hut still stands. You can’t go in it unless you’re with a group (you might pilfer the hardtack) so we haven’t see the inside yet. But we did have gorgeous views out over the Ross Sea and down onto a couple of groups of sunbathing seals! They waved to us!

I just figured out how to share my photos with Ross, and in doing so, updated myself on his blog. I can highly recommend it, for all the stuff I forget to tell you about. See the link at the right or go to http://rossinthepoles.blogspot.com/. Ross says he doesn’t like to write, but I think he does a great job, and he writes like he talks (verbosely). So between the two of us, you can get a pretty complete picture of life down here.

I too am sorry I haven’t described our science yet, but will be able to say more after tomorrow, when we’re flown out to Cape Bird to look for a spot on the sea ice to set up our first field site.

Big Red in my home away from home

My coat’s the red one!

Our lab

McMurdo from Hut Point. The dorms are in the foreground. Observation Hill is in the background.

Seals around a crack in the sea ice

Seals on the far side of Hut Point

Seal pup

5 responses to “McMurdo Station, Antarctica

  1. Great pics! but wish I could reproduce i.e. print them as well as yours from Kuujjuarapik. Have been enjoying Ross’ blog also, with his graphic details — he’s a great writer. Lovely weather you’ve had, hope you have more nice 6F degree days.(-14.44C). Now if I can just learn how to type the degree sign. If that parka ever melts, you’ll have a lifetime supply of pate de foie gras.

  2. Just found the USAP site McMurdo webcam. Wow! the nighttime panorama of the base is just gorgeous, all lit up with the mountain as a backdrop. Bet space travellers can see you.

  3. Thanks to my friend, Pat Donlan, we have had three trips with you and are so excited about visiting you. Her daughter was also there several years ago. I think of you often. Love, Evie

Leave a comment